Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Summer is here!

Well, summer has finally gotten here! It was close to 40 degrees (celsius) here today and extremely humid. Now I live in Quebec so summer lasts about 3 months here if we're lucky... so while it's here, not much quilting gets done. I just cannot bring myself to spend my weekend indoors when the weather is so beautiful.

I therefore don't have much to report in terms of quilty accomplishments I'm afraid. I did make a little progress with the new curtains I'm making for the kitchen, but that's pretty much it.

I will be spending 4 days at the cottage this weekend, and if it rains, I will be spending some of that time in my sewing room upstairs so I'm hoping to finish the 2nd panel of these curtains and maybe even get my grand-mother's quilt ready for quilting. Her birthday is on July 14 and quilting always takes me a loooong time so I need to get started on it.

Meanwhile, I've been spending lots of time outside, cleaning out the garden and enjoying the beautiful flowers blooming all over. I'm brand-new at this gardening thing, but I do enjoy it. Flowers make me happy! And look at how pretty these irises are...

That's it for now! Talk to you all later!

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

I won an Award! :-)

I was out of town in Orlando for a week and when I came home and checked my e-mail... well SURPRISE! My blogger friend Michele from Islandlife Quilts gave me an award! Isn't that the coolest thing?

This is not your typical award though... this one is so much fun because it involves learning more about blog friends and sharing seven things about myself that you probably don't know. So here are my 7 things:

1. I'm a quilter and I love to sew, but I absolutely HATE making alterations to clothes. All my neighbours keep asking me to fix hems and I keep trying to find excuses not to say yes!

2. I'm a huge Back Street Boys fan.

3. My favourite food is lasagna.

4. I get really bad cafeine headaches if I don't have AT LEAST 2 coffees before 9:00 AM.

5. My first language is French and I have a really hard time counting things in English.

6. I have a small tattoo of a rose on the back of my left shoulder.

7. I am turning 42 years old tomorrow! :-)

Thank you again Michele... this was a lot of fun!

That's it for now. Talk to you all later!